• at October 11, 2018

Do you use a home alarm system and are you happy with it? Do you like the service? Is it easy to operate and check things?

I am considering this, but I am a bit of a technophobe. I do live in a pretty decent neighbourhood. I’m not even too keen to install this. My neighbour a few doors down suggested I should. It got me thinking. I’m not good with gadgets. Perhaps that’s why I am hesitant. Is it easy to navigate?

• at October 11, 2018

I think it is a good idea and agree with your neighbour. You can never tell. You may live in a so-called good neighbourhood, but that does NOT mean you are immune to crime.

As for being a little apprehensive regarding technical things, I would tell you not to worry. All you have to do is to ask the security company to show you and explain things to you.

Don’t build up this phobia. It really isn’t all that bad. They will explain things nicely. Even later on, when you have a question, you can call them for advice.

Listen, when I set up stuff for our home, I had no problem but my wife was a bit like you. She would have trouble with an on/off switch!

With their help (and a bit of mine), she could check remotely and do all kinds of stuff. Believe me, you can get your head around it.

• at October 11, 2018

Who did you use? Were they helpful?

• at October 11, 2018

I used a company called AARtech Canada Inc. and yes, they were very helpful, but more so for my wife than me. They certainly made sure everything was OK and that we were happy.

You can go with them, but even if you go with someone else, make sure that they help you understand everything. If their customer service is not good, then I would say don’t bother with them and try elsewhere.

• at October 11, 2018